A Brief History Of Milan

    Milan has been founded by Celtics, in the 7th century BC. It assumed the name Mediolanum when Romans occupied the town, in 222 BC. Milan became an important point of commerce because of its strategic position, situated on the trade routes between north Europe and Rome. In 313 AD Constantine made his edict admitting religion freedom for Christian people.

    Barbarian invasions ended this period of peace, until the growth of COMUNI (town council) in the 11th century; from now until 1162, when Federico Barbarossa, Holy Roman Emperor, decided to attack the town to use local conflits to his advantage; the surrounding town put together against this common enemy, and the new Lega Lombarda kicked out the invaders in 1176.

    The Torrianis, the Viscontis and the Sforza governed the city from 13 century on, and the importance and the power of the city grew on. In 1535 Milan came under Spanish rule; in 1713 was given to Austria, and under Maria Theresa domination many important buildings have been constructed: la SCALA and Palazzo Reale. In 1797 Milan became the capital of the Napoleonic Cisalpine Republic, and in 1802 the capital of Italian Republic.

    After the Austrian domination of the 1814-1859 period, in the Battaglia of Magenta Vittorio Emanuele II and Napoleon III dismitted austrians: in 1860 Milan became finally part of Kingdom of Italy.